New This Month

How to Balance Your Chakra with Stones

Body+Soul, July/August 2006

The seven chakras may seem like a mystical marvel in theory, but in fact are quite simple to understand in due time. In this relaxing ritual, you'll gather stones to stimulate the body's seven main energy centers, or chakras, in the Ayurvedic tradition. While many massage therapists use large stones to massage out tension in muscles, simply placing stones at strategic points on the body can encourage relaxation. Understanding what each chakra symbolizes and how they pertain to one's emotional state can assist you in achieving balance in your life. 


On a sunny day, take a stroll along the beach to gather seven dark-colored, smooth, round stones, preferably 1 or 2 inches in diameter. Set them down in a sunny spot and allow them to warm up for 10 to 15 minutes. When you're ready, lie flat on your back and place a stone on each of the seven chakras, one by one. Let your body relax and sink into the ground; feel the weight of each stone and the sensation it creates on your skin. Visualize energy radiating from each chakra through your body, from the top of your head through your toes. Relax for about 20 minutes, and then remove the stones.


First Chakra: Root

Located in the lower pelvis, the root chakra aligns with your fundamental needs and instincts. 


Second Chakra: Sacral

Located in the inferior region of abdomen, the sacral chakra is connected to creative impulses and sexuality. Increased innovation and artistry are believed to be related to the sakral chakra. 


Third Chakra: Solar Plexus

Where the ribs meet below the heart lies the solar plexus, which possesses a link to willpower, motivation, and drive. 


Fourth Chakra: Heart

The fourth chakra resides in the heart, where emotional well-being is expressed. 


Fifth Chakra: Throat

The chakra that resides in your throat is closely coupled with speech and communication. Focus on the throat if you wish to facilitate these capabilities. 


Sixth Chakra: Third Eye

The third eye, placed between the two eyes, provides intuition. 


Seventh Chakra: Crown

The final chakra resides in the crown of your head, where spirituality and religion percolate. 


The seven chakras are also thought to possess a strong connection to one's physical health in addition to one's spiritual and mental health. Intuitives, or spiritual medical medical practitioners who concentrate their diagnoses and treatments on one's "energy anatomy" as opposed to one's physical anatomy. Some energy anatomists prefer virtual examinations by phone, while others host in-person energy anatomy physicals in a similar manner to doctors performing an annual exam. Doctors who choose to turn their attention towards the energy centers do so due to the purported significance of one's emotional health. As more links are reported between stress or anxiety and disease, energy anatomy specialists feel that the priority should be to secure a firm understanding of patients' well being. While some medical experts remain skeptical of the medical benefits of analyzing the energy anatomy, the option does encourage patients to take a multi-prong approach to their healthcare.




Medical Intuition



Comments Add a comment